Red Bank Workers Compensation Lawyer
Skilled Red Bank Workers Compensation Lawyer Pursues Financial Recovery on Behalf of Employees Hurt at Work in Monmouth County and Across NJ
Have you been hurt at work? If so, the workers’ compensation system in New Jersey can provide you with financial payments and other benefits to assist you with your medical treatment and to provide you with some income if you are unable to work. While the state workers’ comp system entitles workers to benefits whenever they sustain a work injury or occupational illness, employers and their insurers sometimes delay or deny critical benefits to injured workers. When you are having trouble getting benefits after a workplace accident, a Red Bank workers compensation lawyer can help.
For nearly 30 years, compensation lawyer Daniel Santarsiero, Esq. at New Jersey Workers Compensation Lawyer of JFM Law has advocated for the rights and interests of injured and ill workers throughout New Jersey. Our firm has a proven track record of success representing clients, including recoveries of six- and seven-figure compensation awards. Dan is also a certified trial attorney, a distinction conferred on less than two percent of attorneys in the state. When you choose us to help you with your workers’ compensation claim, you can rest assured that you have a firm with the experience and skill necessary to thoroughly pursue your legal options.
If you have been injured on the job in Red Bank, NJ, you deserve to obtain benefits from the state workers’ compensation system to help you through your recovery. Reach out to our firm for a free initial case review to learn how a Red Bank workers compensation lawyer can assist you in pursuing a workers’ comp claim after suffering a work injury.
Benefits Available Under Workers’ Compensation
When you have suffered a work-related injury or illness, you may be able to recover financial benefits from workers’ compensation that include:
- Medical benefits, which pay for all necessary and reasonable medical treatments for a work injury or occupational illness
- Temporary disability benefits, which provide an injured or ill worker with partial replacement of wages they lose out on during their recovery
- Permanent partial disability benefits, financial payments that are calculated according to a worker’s pre-injury wages and the nature and severity of their disability
- Permanent total disability benefits, which continue providing partial wage replacement to a worker unable to do any form of gainful employment so long as they remain totally disabled
- Death benefits, payments to a worker’s estate or their surviving dependents, including partial wage replacement and partial reimbursement of funeral/burial costs
The Workers’ Comp Claim Process
The process of pursuing a workers’ compensation claim after suffering a work-related injury begins with notifying your employer of your injury and claim. Injured workers are required to give notice to their employer within 14 days of suffering a work injury, but no later than 90 days after the date of the injury, to maintain eligibility for workers’ comp benefits. Workers can fulfill their notice requirement by notifying a supervisor or manager, an HR representative, or any other person in a position of authority. Notice may be given orally, although workers are encouraged to provide written notice to ensure that there is a record that their employer was notified.
After an employer receives notice of a worker’s injury, they must file a first report of injury with New Jersey’s Division of Workers’ Compensation. The employer or its workers’ compensation insurer also has 60 days to investigate and either accept or deny the worker’s claim for benefits. When an employer fails or refuses to file a report with the Division or denies a worker’s claim, the worker must file a written claim petition with the Division to further pursue their workers’ compensation claim. A claim petition will entitle a worker to a hearing before a workers’ compensation judge to either informally resolve their dispute with their employer or to obtain a binding ruling on their claim from the compensation judge. A claim petition also allows an injured worker to obtain financial compensation for their permanent injury or disability.
About Red Bank, NJ
Red Bank is a borough located in Monmouth County, New Jersey. Founded in 1870 and incorporated in 1908, Red Bank sits along the Navesink River, which gives the borough access to the Atlantic Ocean. Red Bank gets its name from red soil found along the river banks. After Red Bank suffered economic troubles to its retail commerce sector in the 1980s, the borough established a central business district along the river to include various urban redevelopment projects.
According to the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, in 2020 there were a total of approximately 92,400 cases of non-fatal workplace injuries and illnesses in Red Bank and throughout the state of New Jersey.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation to Discuss Your Case with a Red Bank Workers Compensation Lawyer
After you have been injured in a workplace accident, don’t wait to begin pursuing the benefits you deserve under workers’ compensation. Contact Red Bank workers compensation lawyer Daniel Santarsiero, Esq. at New Jersey Workers Compensation Lawyer of JFM Law for a free, no-obligation case evaluation to discuss your legal rights and options in your workers’ comp claim.
Frequently Asked Questions about Workers’ Compensation in Red Bank, NJ
How much does it cost to hire a workers’ compensation lawyer?
Can I collect additional compensation for my work injury outside of workers’ comp?
In New Jersey, an injured worker is expected to give notice of their work-related injury to their employer within 14 days of a workplace accident, but no later than 90 days following the accident to be eligible for workers’ comp benefits. If their employer denies their workers’ comp claim or stops paying full benefits, a worker has two years from the date of their injury or the date of last payment of benefits to file a claim petition with the state Division of Workers’ Compensation.
To be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits, you only need to prove that you sustained an injury or an occupational illness in the course and scope of your employment. In other words, you must show that you were injured or became ill in the performance of duties for your employer. You do not need to show that your employer had any fault for causing your injury or occupational illness.