Morristown Workers Compensation Lawyer
Dedicated Morristown Workers Compensation Lawyer Fights to Secure Financial Benefits for Clients Hurt on the Job in Morris County and Across NJ
Numerous workers are hurt on the job or develop an occupational illness due to their work every single year in New Jersey. Many of these work injuries and occupational illnesses require workers to seek medical treatment and to take time off work, losing out on critical income and wages. While New Jersey’s workers’ compensation system is intended to provide these workers with financial benefits to help cover these financial burdens, some employers or insurers unnecessarily or unreasonably delay or deny workers’ comp claims. A Morristown workers compensation lawyer can help you demand benefits if you have sustained a work-related injury or illness.
Daniel Santarsiero, Esq. at New Jersey Workers Compensation Lawyer of The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is a highly-experienced workers’ compensation attorney. He will aggressively pursue the full scope of benefits that you are entitled to under the workers’ compensation law. Dan has a proven track record of obtaining maximum recovery for our clients in workers’ comp claims, including several seven-figure recoveries.
When you have been injured at work or diagnosed with an illness that was caused by your job, you may be entitled to receive workers’ compensation. Reach out to a Morristown workers compensation lawyer from our firm for a free initial case review to see how we can help you successfully recover the benefits you deserve in your workers’ compensation claim.
You May Be Entitled to Financial Benefits from Workers’ Comp
Under New Jersey’s workers’ compensation system, an employee who sustains a work injury or occupational illness can receive certain benefits paid by their employer or their employers’ workers’ compensation insurer. These workers’ comp benefits may include:
- Medical benefits, which pay for all reasonable and necessary treatment and rehabilitation of a work injury or occupational illness
- Temporary disability benefits, which provide partial wage replacement for an injured or ill employee who cannot work or who must work in modified duty and earns less income as a result
- Permanent partial disability benefits, which provides weekly payments to an employee who suffers permanent disability to some part of their body but who can still work in gainful employment
- Permanent total disability benefits, which continue temporary disability benefits after their expiration for as long as a worker remains totally disabled from doing any kind of work
- Death benefits, which include temporary regular payments and reimbursement of funeral and burial expenses for the surviving family of a worker killed by a work injury or occupational illness
The Process of Pursuing a NJ Workers’ Compensation Claim
To obtain workers’ compensation benefits in New Jersey, an employee is required to notify their employer of their work injury. Employees must provide prompt notice, but no later than 14 days after being injured to be eligible for benefits from the date of injury. If notice is not given within 90 days of a work accident, an employee’s right to workers’ comp benefits may be deemed waived. An employee may give oral notice of their work injury, although written notice is preferred since it creates a record. Notice may be given to a supervisor, manager, safety or HR department manager, or any other person in a position of authority with the employer. Many employers or their workers’ compensation insurers may have claim forms that workers can fill out to give notice of a work injury.
Upon receiving notice, an employer or its insurer must file a first report of Injury with the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation. However, if an employer denies a worker’s claim or prematurely terminates their benefits, the employee must file a written claim petition with the Division and either seek mediation through an informal hearing with a workers’ compensation judge or pursue a formal claim hearing that results in a binding ruling by the compensation judge. A claim petition must be filed within two years of the date of the work injury, or two years following the last date that workers’ comp benefits were received for a work injury. A claim petition must also be filed to secure financial benefits for a worker’s permanent injury or disability.
About Morristown, NJ
Morristown is a town located in Morris County, New Jersey, and is also the county seat. The town and the county were formed in the early 18th century and named in honor of the then-governor of the province of New Jersey, Lewis Morris. Morristown is home to numerous historical sites from the Revolutionary War due to the area being the winter encampment for the Continental Army for several years during the war, giving the township the nickname of “Military Capital of the American Revolution”.
OSHA records show that between 2017 through 2021, Morristown experienced one fatal workplace accident, which occurred in 2020 from an impact with a falling tree limb.
Contact Our Firm Today for a Free Consultation to Learn How a Morristown Workers Compensation Lawyer Can Make a Difference in Your Claim
You need to act quickly to secure the workers’ comp benefits you may be entitled to by law. Contact compensation attorney Daniel Santarsiero, Esq. at New Jersey Workers Compensation Lawyer of JFM Law for a free, no-obligation case evaluation to speak to a Morristown workers compensation lawyer from our firm about your legal rights and options.
Frequently Asked Questions about Workers’ Compensation in Morristown
How much does it cost to hire a workers’ compensation lawyer?
Can I collect additional compensation for my work injury outside of workers’ comp?
Once you notify your employer about your work injury or occupational illness, your employer or its insurer has up to 60 days to process your workers’ comp claim, although most claims are processed in about two weeks. You can immediately begin receiving medical benefits and permanent disability benefits, although temporary disability wage benefits will only begin after you have missed a total of seven days from work due to your work injury or occupational illness.
In certain circumstances, you may be eligible to pursue both a personal injury claim and a workers’ compensation claim. While workers’ compensation is usually your sole legal recourse against your employer, if a third party bears responsibility for causing your injuries, such as a negligent driver or the manufacturer of defective equipment, you can pursue a third-party personal injury claim against them. However, any financial compensation you obtain in your personal injury claim may be subject to a workers’ compensation lien to reimburse your employer or its insurer for WC benefits you have been paid, so that you don’t receive a “double recovery” for your injury.